Granta's Best of Young British Novelists

 
Sort by:
Showing 1-10 of 14 results

Quickening Maze

By Adam Foulds

Paperback

Published 06-May-2010


RRP: £8.99
Our price: £7.19
You save: £1.80

After a lifetime's struggle with alcohol, critical neglect and depression, in 1840 the nature poet John Clare is incarcerated. The asylum, in London's Epping Forest, is run on the reformist principles of occupational therapy. At the same time, the young Alfred Tennyson, moves nearby and became entangled in the life of the asylum.


In stock, usually despatched within 24 hours.

After the Fire, A Still Small Voice

By Evie Wyld

Paperback

Published 02-Jan-2010


RRP: £8.99
Our price: £7.19
You save: £1.80

Frank and Leon are two men from different times, discovering that sometimes all you learn from your parents' mistakes is how to make different ones of your own. Frank is trying to escape his troubled past by running away to his family's beach shack.


In stock, usually despatched within 24 hours.

Kapow!

By Adam Thirlwell

Paperback

Published 17-May-2012


Our price: £15.00

Exploding with unfolding pages and multiple directions, Kapow! is a new book by British writer Adam Thirlwell. Set in the thick of the Arab Spring, it is guided by the high-speed monologue of an unnamed narrator - over-doped, over-caffeinated, overweight - trying to make sense of this history in real time.


In stock, usually despatched within 24 hours.

Liars' Gospel

By Naomi Alderman

Paperback

Published 25-Apr-2013


RRP: £8.99
Our price: £7.19
You save: £1.80

Iehuda, who was once Yehoshuah's friend, recalls how he came to lose his faith and find a place among the Romans. Caiaphas, the High Priest at the great Temple in Jerusalem, tries to hold the peace between Rome and Judea. Bar-Avo, a rebel, strives to bring that peace tumbling down.


In stock, usually despatched within 24 hours.

Beautiful Indifference

By Sarah Hall

Paperback

Published 05-Jul-2012


RRP: £7.99
Our price: £6.39
You save: £1.60

Includes such characters as: a frustrated housewife who is seeking extreme experience or a young woman contemplating the death of her lover, dark devices and desires rise to the surface.


In stock, usually despatched within 24 hours.

Waterline

By Ross Raisin

Paperback

Published 28-Jun-2012


RRP: £8.99
Our price: £7.19
You save: £1.80

Mick Little used to be a shipbuilder on the Glasgow yards. But as they closed one after another down the river, the search for work took him and his beloved wife Cathy to Australia, and back again, struggling for a living, longing for home. Thirty years later the yards are nearly all gone and Cathy is dead.


In stock, usually despatched within 24 hours.

Burnt Shadows

By Kamila Shamsie

Paperback

Published 05-Oct-2009


RRP: £8.99
Our price: £7.19
You save: £1.80

Shortlisted for the Orange Prize 2009, this title presents an epic crossing generations, cultures and continents.


In stock, usually despatched within 24 hours.

Teleportation Accident

By Ned Beauman

Paperback

Published 11-Apr-2013


RRP: £8.99
Our price: £7.19
You save: £1.80

From the award-winning Ned Beauman, an 'unquestionably brilliant' (TLS) novel that establishes him as one of the exciting and influential voices in modern British fiction.


In stock, usually despatched within 24 hours.

Golden Age

By Tahmima Anam

Paperback

Published 03-May-2012


RRP: £8.99
Our price: £7.19
You save: £1.80

Winner of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize Best First Book Award, Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award and the Guardian First Book Award


Usually despatched within 7-10 days.

Ghana Must Go

By Taiye Selasi

Hardback

Published 04-Apr-2013


RRP: £14.99
Our price: £11.99
You save: £3.00

Offers a tale of family drama and forgiveness, for fans of Zadie Smith and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. This title tells the story of a family - of the simple, devastating ways in which families tear themselves apart, and of the incredible lengths to which a family will go to put itself back together.


In stock, usually despatched within 24 hours.

1 | 2 | Next >

This week's bestsellers

1
14.99
2Retiring with Attitude
Eileen Carnell & Caroline Lodge
3Village of Secrets
Caroline Moorehead
4Hack Attack
Nick Davies
5Sense of Style
Steven Pinker
6Bombay Lunchbox
Carolyn Caldicott
7Poets Of The Great War
8Moth
Various The Moth
9Guardian Quick Crosswords 5 & 6
10Age of Innocence. Football in the 1970s
Reuel Golden
Follow us on twitter